Grand Slam of Darts Preview

Grand Slam Of Darts Preview

The Grand Slam of Darts is the one time a year that darts players from rival organisations the PDC and the BDO clash in what is always a tournament full of fireworks. Though he has been slightly out of form in the last few months, Michael van Gerwen will still be the man to beat as he is the defending champion, having won the Grand Slam of Darts for 3 years straight.

When is it?

The 2018 Grand Slam of Darts gets underway on 10th November when the group stages are due to begin. The groups will last until 13th November, and the 14-15th will see the second round ties being played. The 16-17th is the quarter-final stage, with the semi-finals and final taking place on 18th November 2018.

Where is it?

The Grand Slam of Darts has a new home for 2018. It will be at the Aldersley Leisure Village in Wolverhampton, moving from the Wolverhampton Civic Hall that was the host venue for the previous 10 years.

Grand Slam of Darts Format

This tournament is slightly different from the norm. The Grand Slam of Darts will begin with a Group Stage comprising of eight groups of four, with 32 players taking part overall. The seeding of the top 8 PDC players has ensured that they all avoid each other going into the group stage. Each player will play the other 3 in their group once. The top 2 players from each group will progress to the last 16, and from that point on it will be a knockout competition.

The prize pot for the entire tournament is set at £450,000, with the winner claiming a cool £110,000. The runner-up receives £55,000 while both of the losing semi-finalists will get £28,500 each. There is a bonus of £2,500 for the players that win the groups, and a £25,000 incentive for hitting a nine-dart finish if anyone can find the darting holy grail.

Qualifying for the Grand Slam of Darts 2018 was a complex process for some. The winners and runners-up of the big PDC tournaments all qualified, as well as selected winners from the European Tour, PDC Pro Tour as well as 8 players that advanced in a PDC last-chance qualifying event on 5th November. The BDO World Darts Champion Glen Durrant and runner-up Mark McGeeney will be representing the BDO at the event, alongside 6 other qualifiers.

Who is involved?

Group A

Michael van Gerwen (1) - Jonny Clayton - Joe Murnan - Gary Robson

Group B

Michael Smith (8) - Raymond van Barneveld - Krzysztof Ratajski - Adam Smith-Neale

Group C

James Wade (5) - Keegan Brown - Mark Webster - Wesley Harms

Group D

Gary Anderson (4) - Ian White - Steve Hine - Michael Unterbuchner

Group E

Peter Wright (2) - Max Hopp - Josh Payne - Jim Williams

Group F

Simon Whitlock (7) - Gerwyn Price - Andrew Gilding - Glen Durrant

Group G

Munsur Suljovic (6) - Stephen Bunting - Martin Schindler - Scott Mitchell

Group H

Rob Cross (3) - Dimitri Van den Burgh - Ryan Searle - Mark McGeeney

Which channel is it on?

Sky Sports will be the home of the 2018 Grand Slam of Darts for the duration of the tournament. Each match will be live on one of the main channels, so all Sky Sports subscribers will be able to keep up with the action.

Previous Grand Slam of Darts Winners

2007 - Phil Taylor

2008 - Phil Taylor

2009 - Phil Taylor

2010 - Scott Waites

2011 - Phil Taylor

2012 - Raymond van Barneveld

2013 - Phil Taylor

2014 - Phil Taylor

2015 - Michael van Gerwen

2016 - Michael van Gerwen

2017 - Michael van Gerwen

2018 Grand Slam Of Darts Betting

The online betting sportsbook has the Grand Slam of Darts 2018 markets, with the opportunity to place bets on the outright winner of the tournament and groups, as well as each individual match. You can also view our Grand Slam of Darts Betting Tips & Odds article over on the blog.

You can place a bet on the Grand Slam Of Darts, through our darts betting markets, whether you are looking to back a big favourite like MVG or an outsider such as Jonny Clayton. Grand Slam Of Darts betting markets will be available in-play as well as before the tournament begins.

*All odds from Bet UK’s online sportsbook correct at the time of writing.

If you are placing a bet on darts, please remember to gamble responsibly and if the fun stops, stop. All players must be 18+.

£10 free - No deposit required

Full T&Cs apply. No deposit required & new players only. £10 paid as bonus funds. Claim within 3 days of registration & 7 day expiry. 50x wagering target. £50 max win/withdrawal from bonus. Only bonus stakes qualify & wagering contributions vary. 18+

Up To £100 Deposit Bonus When You Play Live Casino

Full T&Cs apply. New players only across two deposits. Cash rewards have 7 days from registration to opt-in from “My Promotions” page & each with 7 days wagering. Deposit £10, £25 or £50 & wager 75x. Only cash stakes on live games qualify & wagering contributions vary. 18+

Full Terms and Conditions